Chinamen, Japanese, Hindus and Indians: chapter 48 provides for the licensing of real estate agents and salesmen.

PRINCIPAL EVENTS OF THE YEAR 1920.

The First Assembly of the League of Nations.—The first Assembly of the League of Nations, composed of representatives of 41 members of the League, met at Geneva, Switzerland, from November 15 to December 18, 1920. The Canadian representatives at this first Assembly were the Rt. Hon. Sir George E. Foster, Minister of Trade and Commerce, the Rt. Hon. Chas. Joseph Doherty, Minister of Justice, and Hon. N. W. Rowell, K.C., President of the Privy Council. Sir George E. Foster acted as one of the Vice-Presidents of the Assembly.

Since May, 1919, the League had been in being, and since January 10, 1920, it had been in legal existence by virtue of the entrance into force of the Treaty of Versailles. The Council of the League had met ten times and, together with the Secretariat, had organized the League as far as possible and had done other work within its competence. The Assembly now had before it the task of completing the organization of the League, making itself a reality along parliamentary lines, determining its relations to the council, fixing its budget and dealing with various questions incident to the world situation.

The first meeting, presided over by M. Paul Hymans, of Belgium, who was also Fresident of the Council, distributed its work among the following six Committees, the names of which will indicate the agenda of the First Assembly: (1) General organization; (2) Technical organization; (3) Creation of a permanent court of International Justice; (4) Secretariat and Budget; (5) Examination of application of new admissions; (6) Reduction of armaments, economic weapon and mandates.

The election of officers resulted in the election of M. Guiseppe Motta, Switzerland, as honorary president and M. Faul Hymans, Belgium, as president, together with six vice-presidents elected by the general meeting (Viscount Ishii, Japan; M. Karnebeek, Netherlands; M. Fueyrredon, Argentine Republic (resigned and replaced by M. Blanco, Uruguay); M. Benes, Czecho-Slovakia; Sir Geo. E. Foster, Canada; M. Octavio, Brazil; and six other vice-presidents who, through being selected by the Committees as their Chairmen, became ex officio vice-presidents of the Assembly. Mr. A. J. Balfour, Great Britain; M. Tittoni, Italy; M. Bourgeois, France; M. Quiñones de Leon, Spain; M. Huneeus, Chile; M. Branting, Sweden; thus became ex officio vice-presidents of the Assembly.

One of the first discussions at a plenary session led to the adoption of a resolution that the discussions and minutes of the committees should be accessible to the Assembly and published as soon as possible. Another resolution was adopted requesting the Council to consider means of securing greater publicity for the discussions and decisions.